LMFT and LPCC Licensure Preparation
To practice as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) or Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC) in California, a license issued by the State Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS) is required. Our 63-unit counseling program with the MFT concentration is designed to prepare students to meet licensure requirements (Business and Professions Code, Sections 4980.37 for LMFT and 4999.30 for LPCC). Students should note that licensure requirements extend beyond those of the M.S. degree and include registration as an associate and passing official examinations. It is the student's responsibility to keep informed about licensure requirements as they are subject to change from time-to-time. An authoritative source of information is "Laws and Regulations Relating to the Practice of Marriage, Family and Child Counseling, Licensed Clinical Social Work, Licensed Educational Psychology, and Licensed Professional Clinical Counseling" issued by the Board of Behavioral Sciences and available on the BBS web site.
Please note that upon registration as an associate, the BBS requires the reporting of any and all misdemeanors and felonies, no matter how long ago they occurred or if they have been expunged (such as a DUI). Individuals may not be eligible for licensure or may be required to be on probation as part of seeking the license.
For further information, write to:
Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 N Market Blvd., Suite S-200,
Sacramento, California 95834
or call them at:
Or visit the BBS website
For the LMFT:
Students are designated trainees by the BBS and can accrue licensing hours after they have been classified by the Department and begin their fieldwork practicum. Upon graduation, students have 90 days to register with the BBS as an associate. It is advisable to write to the BBS for a registration packet early (e.g., at the beginning of the last semester).
For the LPCC:
Students are designated trainees by the BBS and must complete 280 client contact hours as part of the degree. The minimum of 3000 hours required for licensure must be accrued as an intern. Upon graduation, students have 90 days to register with the BBS as an associate. It is advisable to write to the BBS for a registration packet early (e.g., at the beginning of the last semester).